(212) 203-0999 info@nycretina.com

      Patient Reviews

      Filter by Ranking

      Filter by Source

      Filter by Doctor

      Filter by Location

      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | May 24, 2019

      I wanted to take a moment out and give a special thanks to Dr. Jonathan Feistmann for being an amazing doctor and taking good care of my mother. My mother has always had vision problems since childhood and over the years she developed a mistrust for eye doctor’s. So when she became stubborn and unwilling to correct the issues she was having, Dr. Feistmann personally called me and explained to me the gravity of her situation and he walked me through what her medical issue was, what the correct treatment would be and the results we should expect as a result. He took his time over the phone and explained things in a way that made sense to someone who isn’t in the medical field. He performed surgery on her left eye and it was a success. My mother never again complained about being unable to see from that eye. Unfortunately her right eye would eventually need a procedure as well. After her second surgery, she caught a stomach virus and was unable to make it to the office to get her eye checked. Dr. Feistmann offered to make a house call and traveled to a different borough just to ensure that my mother’s eye was taken care of post-surgery. If that is not the epitome of professionalism and personal care, I don’t know what is. In all my years going to doctor’s, I have never come across one who truly made an effort to show their patient undivided attention and genuine care the way Dr. Feistmann has shown my mother. Thank you Dr. Feistmann for being exactly the professional that you are. The medical field needs more doctor’s like you! Sincerely, Frances
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | May 19, 2019

      I came to NYC Retina due to complications after a cataract surgery. I needed a non-routine surgery and since I couldn't see out of the affected eye, I needed it fast. Dr. Brandon Johnson worked out a solution and got it done fast and now I see 20/20 out of the affected eye. He was unfailingly upbeat, clear and thoughtful in his explanations. Before my surgery with him I could hear him telling the hospital staff to get a move on and not let me linger -- it felt good to feel like my surgeon was also my advocate. The staff at this place is exceptionally thoughtful and competent, dealing with insurance companies, pharmacies and other obstacles that would throw other offices into paralysis. The whole place is first rate!
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | May 15, 2019

      I highly recommend Dr. Feistmann because he expertly repaired my detached retina in my left eye so I have perfectly normal vision again, and he did it by seeing me late on a Monday and doing the procedure the next day -- that's the kind of responsiveness that's hard to find.. Also, the facility on Long Island where the operation was done is beautiful -- it reminded me of a ski lodge in Aspen. Don't hesitate to call on him.
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | May 6, 2019

      I am forever grateful to have met with Dr Feistmann as he fixed the problem I had on my right eye due to retina detachment. I trusted him the first time we met, and I’m really glad he did a very good job.
      5.0
      HealthGrades

      Review from

      Source: HealthGrades | May 1, 2019

      Thorough visit. Great doctor.
      5.0
      Google - Queens

      Review from

      Source: Google - Queens | Apr 29, 2019

      I was 32 year old when I started showing symptoms for retinal detachment in my left eye. At the time I was living in China and the best course of treatment was to get the reattachment surgery there. In a country where the doctors were not fluent in English and where my rights as a patient and the procedure itself were very unclear. With a lack of proper pain management, the surgery was the most painful memory in my life. It was over an hour and I felt everything. Six weeks after the surgery I quit my job and came back to the NYC. It was a scary and uncertain time in my life. i did not know if I’d be able to see again and my other eye began showing similar symptoms. I began telling myself that I would have to adapt to life with very limited sight. I could not drive or read, I couldn’t watch television, I had to start counting steps and blocks to orient myself properly. I was worried that I would not be able to continue my life as an English teacher and the irony of being and English teacher who could now read was not lost on me. My eye doctor referred me to Dr. Johnson. He was knowledgeable and informative. He didn’t try to fill me with hope but he tempered his prognosis. He explained the trouble with my eyes, his plan to treat them, and what to expect with each stage in recovery. The office used state of the art technology. Dr. Johnson was fast and efficient but he made sure all my questions were answered. The staff was welcoming and kind and I actually like visiting to see them every few weeks. I’ve had two surgeries and laser procedures in Dr. Johnson’s care and I felt calm and safe despite past traumatic memories I have visited many doctors for many reasons and I have never felt I could trust any physician’s judgement as much as Dr. Johnson. I believe it’s best to set reachable goals and in February I told Dr. Johnson to do the surgeries and procedures ASAP because I would like to be able to see when Avengers Endgame is released. That’s what we aimed for. I got my glasses two days ago and watch GoT The Battle of Winterfell in HD and this morning I watched Endgame in IMAX. I was able to see clearly and enjoy the minute details on screen. It’s just a tv show and just a movie. Both of very little consequence but being able to enjoy them thoroughly has made me happier, more optimistic, and more content then I had been in years. and I have Dr. Johnson and his staff to thank for allowing me to the first steps needed to return to my normal life.
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Apr 29, 2019

      Dr. Feistman, Dr. Shulman, and Dr. Johnson are such caring, patient, and kind people. At the age of 15 i was battling with a rare and serious case, and was at risk of losing my sight in the right eye. Dr. Feistman and Dr. Shulman were quick to discover the problem and make a solution. Dr. Feistman along with Dr. Johnson performed multiple amazing procedures and treatment. They took time out of their busy schedule to watch out for any disasters, scheduling appointments each day to see if I'm alright, even calling my home (sometimes late at night) to check if I am ok. I show a lot of gratitude and grace towards them. If it wasn't for them, I would have lost my sight at only 15 years old. Now at the age of 16 I am able to see well again, thanks to Dr. Feistman , Dr. Shulman, qnd Dr. Johnson (and their beautiful staff). I recommend them to all.
      5.0
      Yelp

      Review from

      Source: Yelp | Apr 24, 2019

      If you become a patient here, ask to be seen by Dr. Feistmann! I wanted to take a moment out and give a special thanks to Dr. Jonathan Feistmann for being an amazing doctor and taking good care of my mother. My mother has always had vision problems since childhood and over the years she developed a mistrust for eye doctor's. So when she became stubborn and unwilling to correct the issues she was having, Dr. Feistmann personally called me and explained to me the gravity of her situation and he walked me through what her medical issue was, what the correct treatment would be and the results we should expect as a result. He took his time over the phone and explained things in a way that made sense to someone who isn't in the medical field. He performed surgery on her left eye and it was a success. My mother never again complained about being unable to see from that eye. Unfortunately her right eye would eventually need a procedure as well. After her second surgery, she caught a stomach virus and was unable to make it to the office to get her eye checked. Dr. Feistmann offered to make a house call and traveled to a different borough just to ensure that my mother's eye was taken care of post-surgery. If that is not the epitome of professionalism and personal care, I don't know what is. In all my years going to doctor's, I have never come across one who truly made an effort to show their patient undivided attention and genuine care the way Dr. Feistmann has shown my mother. Thank you Dr. Feistmann for being exactly the professional that you are. The medical field needs more doctor's like you!
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Apr 24, 2019

      If you become a patient here, ask to be seen by Dr. Feistmann! I wanted to take a moment out and give a special thanks to Dr. Jonathan Feistmann for being an amazing doctor and taking good care of my mother. My mother has always had vision problems since childhood and over the years she developed a mistrust for eye doctors. So when she became stubborn and unwilling to correct the issues she was having, Dr. Feistmann personally called me and explained to me the gravity of her situation and he walked me through what her medical issue was, what the correct treatment would be and the results we should expect as a result. He took his time over the phone and explained things in a way that made sense to someone who isn't in the medical field. He performed surgery on her left eye and it was a success. My mother never again complained about being unable to see from that eye. Unfortunately, her right eye would eventually need a procedure as well. After her second surgery, she caught a stomach virus and was unable to make it to the office to get her eye checked. Dr. Feistmann offered to make a house call and traveled to a different borough just to ensure that my mother's eye was taken care of post-surgery. If that is not the epitome of professionalism and personal care, I don't know what is. In all my years going to doctor's, I have never come across one who truly made an effort to show their patient undivided attention and genuine care the way Dr. Feistmann has shown my mother. Thank you Dr. Feistmann for being exactly the professional that you are. The medical field needs more doctors like you!
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Apr 15, 2019

      I’m afraid to rave about Dr. Feistmann and his amazing staff in fear I could never squeeze in another appointment. Jose and Althea are so kind, professional and considerate ... to Dr. Feistmann and Dr. Johnson giving their time and individualized care to patients. The best part is that you are in and out within close to an hour and I can go back to work immediately without having to fix my make-up.
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Mar 25, 2019

      Dr. B. Johnson performed serious emergency surgery on my left eye, a detached retina coupled with a macular hole, which the surgery was a success. It’s obvious that he has skilled, gentle, caring hands because postoperative there was only minor pain, which could be alleviated with a Tylenol. He is truly a professional, knowledgeable, caring, patient and meticulous in his duties. I’m so pleased that on follow up visits, my vision continues to improve and Dr. Johnson genuinely shares in my happiness. He treats me like I’m his only client but, I’m positive that he treats all his clients in the same special way. Dr. Johnson has such stature and is so impressive that my adult daughter who accompanies me on my visits, has returned to school to obtain a PHD due to Dr. Johnson ‘s profound effect on her. Retina NYC Manhattan is very fortunate to have him. I am also a registered nurse and believe me, I know a good doctor when I see one, Dr. Johnson is the best! Thank you!
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Mar 21, 2019

      They were able to get me an appointment in short notice and quickly diagnose issues. The doctor and office were extremely helpful, accommodating, and professional. Highly recommended.
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Mar 18, 2019

      I had a family trip planned around Christmas and was to fly out on Saturday night. On Wednesday before, I started seeing some small bubbles – I texted Dr. Feistmann and he saw me the same afternoon. I had a torn retina. Dr. Feistmann was amazing. He lasered my tear the next day and saw me every day until I left - even coming into the city on a Saturday evening to check on me. I was able to fly as scheduled! Dr. Feistmann is one of a kind - he is very knowledgable but more importantly, he cares to find solutions where most people would give up. He also cares enough to inconvenience himself to help his patients. 10 months ago - Wow! What can I say? I had to go to Dr. Feistmann for a torn retina. The moment I walked in I felt calm and in good hands. His staff is competent and kind. They worked efficiently and I saw the doctor very quickly. He was very knowledgeable and thorough. He took the time to explain my options to me along with the consequences of my choices without being negative or judgmental. I was allowed to make my decision without pressure and he answered all my questions. I would highly recommend Dr. Feistmann to anyone that needs his expertise. I am truly grateful for his kindness and help through a scary time.
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Mar 14, 2019

      I’m afraid to rave about Dr. Feistmann and his amazing staff in fear I could never squeeze in another appointment. Jose and Althea are so kind, professional and considerate ... to Dr. Feistmann and Dr. Johnson giving their time and individualized care to patients. The best part is that you are in and out within close to an hour and I can go back to work immediately without having to fix my make-up.
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Mar 8, 2019

      I have been seeing Dr. Feistmann for many years. I went in initially to address what I thought was a vision problem, but it turned out to be more serious. He has always been compassionate, caring, supportive and highly knowledgable. When I wanted a second opinion he was welcoming of it and even made the appointment for me. Because my condition is one that needs to be monitored closely, he has always made himself available to me. I would recommend him to anyone who has any retina issues. He is my lifeline in regards to my vision. He is also the nicest guy you will meet.
      5.0
      HealthGrades

      Review from

      Source: HealthGrades | Mar 5, 2019

      The office of NYC Retina has a wonderful staff and caring doctors. Everyone is warm and welcoming. I felt at the ease and was very confident with the best treatment possible. Dr. Feistmann is simply the best. Thank you NYC Retina!
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Feb 11, 2019

      I was in a tough spot during the start of my last semester in college when I was told by a specialist that I had retinal detachment. I originally saw two doctors at another hospital who told me that intensive surgery was absolutely needed but something told me to visit NYC Retina for a final, third opinion. Dr. Feistmann and his staff were welcoming; the engineers and even the front desk made me and family (who were already stressed out) feel welcome for our first visit, unlike other places where doctors would just ignore my family. Feistmann did a simple non-invasive 5-minute laser operation on the SAME day and I was very grateful for that. He’s a good doctor and he thoroughly explained my condition to me, he put me at ease and he was very accommodating to my parents. No scare tactics like other places, but rather just the truth and the best possible solution. I just had my two-week checkup and so far so good!
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Feb 2, 2019

      I was recommended by my local optometrist & proprietor (BTW also an excellent practitioner) of Station Square Eyes. NYC Retina’s competent staff— Madeline, Maria & Christopher at the front desk were both friendly and professional as well as the technician who did the initial intake diagnostics. They immediately put me at ease and made the process effortless. Dr. Johnson surpassed my expectations. He took the time to explain to me my eye condition and answered my questions thoroughly. He was knowledgeable and personable. I am grateful to have met him and now call him my doctor.
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Jan 28, 2019

      I needed to get a second opinion for a problem I had with my retina of the right eye! I was recommended by two prominent physicians to see Dr Johnson regarding my retina! He was extremely knowledgeable , very informative and explained that I did not have to have a procedure on my eye.He answered numerous questions I had and my concerns regarding my retinal condition. Dr Johnson is truly an exceptional physician in his field. His compassion and caring for a patient is outstanding!! His staff is extremely accommodating and very kind! Thank you, Dr Johnson for the outstanding care I received and your knowledge regarding my problem! Excellence in medical care!!!
      5.0
      Google - Manhattan

      Review from

      Source: Google - Manhattan | Jan 18, 2019

      Dr. Feistman is a professional, knowledgeable, caring, and considerate physician. He has a great staff and he’s attentive to his patients wants and needs. He is an excellent listener and had excellent resolution options. I would definitely recommend a visit for anyone needing his services.

      Request Your Appointment Today